15 photo(s) Updated on: 7 Dec 2019
  • Samantha Jacobs, LMSW. She is the Legislative co-chair on KSSWA board.
  • Michael R. Riquino, PhD, LCSW is an Assistant Professor at the University of Kansas School of Social Welfare. KSSWA is glad to have him on board as the KU Liaison.
  • Leslie Carr, LSCSW is the Coordinator of Social Work for Topeka Public Schools. She serves as the Secretary on the KSSWA Board.
  • Ragan Snyder-Smith, LSCSW and RPT-S, is a school social worker at Derby Middle School, USD 260. She serves as the Membership Chair on the KSSWA Board
  • Alison Despard, LMSW, LAC, is a school social worker at East High School in Wichita USD 259. She is a Southeast Regional Representative on the KSSWA Board.
  • Gerri Blaisdell is a SE Regional Representative and is a School Social Worker in USD 284 school district.
  • Katie Berry, LMSW, is the Co-Communications Chair on the KSSWA board. She is a school social worker in USD 261 Haysville School District.
  • Galen Craghead, LSCSW, is the Co-Communications Chair for KSSWA. He is a principal at two elementary schools in the USD 329 School District.
  • Teresa Palmer is the Vice-President of KSSWA. Teresa is a School Social Worker in Geary County USD 475.
  • Craig Hidy, LMSW, is a Co-Legislative chair on the KSSWA board. He works for Greenbush SE KS Education Service Center.
  • Kim Simpson co-chairs as the North Eastern Representative. She is a school social worker with USD 475 in Geary County Schools.
  • Laura Chartier, LMSW, is currently our Northwest Regional Representative.
  • Cheri Koochel. LMSW, is the KSSWA President and is a retired School Social Worker from USD 383, Manhattan KS.
  • Becky Hegler, LMSW, is the KSSWA Treasurer. She is a School Social Worker/ Acting Counselor at Kingman High School USD 331.
  • Barb Meyer, LMSW, is the past president of KSSWA. She works at Wilbur Middle School in the Wichita Public Schools USD 259.

Current Board Members:

President:  Cheri Koochel

Vice President  Teresa Palmer

Past President:  Barb Meyer

Secretary:  Leslie Carr

Treasurer:  Becky Hegler

Membership Chair:  Ragan Snyder - Smith

Member-at-Large:  Stephanie Holloway

Communications Co-Chair:  Katie Berry and Galen Craghead

Legislative Co-Chair:  Craig Hidy and Samantha Jacobs

Professional Development Chair: Kristen Garner

Northwest Representative: Laura Chartier

Northeast Representative: Kim Simpson, Thomas Walsh and Norella Munoz

Southwest Representative: Lindsey Sill

Southeast Representative: Alison Despard, Gerri Blaisdell

KSDE Liaison:  Myron Melton

Fort Hays Faculty Liaison:  Rekala Tuxhorn

Wichita State University Faculty Liaison:  Amy Nolen

Washburn FacultyLiaison:  Kim Harrison

Kansas University Faculty Liaison:  Michael Riquino

Newman University Faculty Liaison: Jennifer Jones

Washburn Student Representative: 

KU Student Representative:

Newman University Student Representative: Mikah Kemper

WSU Student Representative:

FHSU Student Representative:

Our Mission

KSSWA is a professional organization dedicated to promoting school social work in helping students, their families and the community to enhance each child's educational experience.

We were established in 1973 by a group of school social workers and their clients in the educational arena.

Our state association is part of the Midwest School Social Work Council, an eleven state regional organization that works to promote best practice and support social work in education.

KSSWA has a voice in developing policy at the state level, as well as regionally and nationally through our association with the Midwest School Social Work Council and the School Social Work Association of America.

KSSWA's executive board meets four times a year, and we hold a general membership meeting annually.

Constitution and Bylaws

Replace this text with your copyright information and address.

"Place your organization name here" is a 501(c)6 non-profit organization. Michigan , P.O. Box 1234, South Lyon, MI 123456

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software